Lab 7 – Release 0.2

Marquez

As my previous post said, I step into this project. Their issue trackers have been labelled clearly, and it didn’t take me a long time to find 2 suitable issues from.

1st issue ~ Rename class Job #358

The title and description was lean. And I asked the author about my thought to it and got a quick response with clear explanation about how to continue. However, it’s a tricky project as I cannot properly build it locally. After I applied my update, I had to use their tester to run it. Meanwhile I also changed some class name wrong which should be changed. I got some failure.

It’s a practical lesson to educate me to keep think in detail. Besides, I use Ubuntu added on top of W10 to help me to locate the files easily, like,

$grep -R " Job "

And this PR has been merged.

https://github.com/MarquezProject/marquez/pull/381

2nd issue ~ Return JobRunRow on JobRunRowMapper.map()

It sounds easy, but NOT.

After renamed the return class, the automation tested failed. And I looked deeper about those two switching classes, which have different class members. It means it cannot simply changed. I communicated with the author, he said actually more supporting files need to be changed, before the PR could be merged.

I consider this work is pending at this point. I may want to continue on it for the later release job.

https://github.com/MarquezProject/marquez/pull/390

Leave a comment